Select Page

Lisa, Jim and friends-of-the-show Elaina Doré Smith and John Shomby sit down to discuss their picks for this year’s CMA Awards winners.
Show Participants

Lisa Konicki, Editor in Chief
Jim Casey, Managing Editor
Elaina Doré Smith, co-host of Nash Nights Live
John Shomby, Nash Director of Programming at Cumulus Media

Show Links & Notes

2016 CMA Awards Nominees
CMA Awards History

(From left) John Shomby, Elaina Doré Smith, Jim Casey and Lisa Konicki in the very early Christmas-decorated “America’s Morning Show” studio
The Writers Room’s 2016 CMA Awards Winner Picks
Entertainer of the Year

Elaina: Garth Brooks
Jim: Carrie Underwood
John: Luke Bryan
Lisa: Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year

Elaina: Carrie Underwood
Jim: Carrie Underwood
John: Carrie Underwood
Lisa: Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Elaina: Keith Urban
Jim: Chris Stapleton
John: Chris Stapleton
Lisa: Keith Urban

Album of the Year

Elaina: Ripcord, Keith Urban
Jim: Ripcord, Keith Urban
John: Ripcord, Keith Urban
Lisa: Ripcord, Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year

Elaina: Little Big Town
Jim: Little Big Town
John: Little Big Town
Lisa: Little Big Town

Vocal Duo of the Year

Elaina: Florida Georgia Line
Jim: Florida Georgia Line
John: Florida Georgia Line
Lisa: Florida Georgia Line

New Artist of the Year

Elaina: Kelsea Ballerini
Jim: Kelsea Ballerini
John: Kelsea Ballerini
Lisa: Kelsea Ballerini

Single of the Year

Elaina: “Die a Happy Man,” Thomas Rhett
Jim: “Die a Happy Man,” Thomas Rhett
John: “Die a Happy Man,” Thomas Rhett
Lisa: “Die a Happy Man,” Thomas Rhett

Song of the Year (Awarded to Songwriter)

Elaina: “Humble and Kind,” Lori McKenna
Jim: “Humble and Kind,” Lori McKenna
John: “Burning House,” Cam, Tyler Johnson, Jeff Bhasker
Lisa: “Humble and Kind,” Lori McKenna

Musical Event of the Year

Elaina: “Different for Girls,” Dierks Bentley feat. Elle King
Jim: “Different for Girls,” Dierks Bentley feat. Elle King
John: “Different for Girls,” Dierks Bentley feat. Elle King
Lisa: “Different for Girls,” Dierks Bentley feat. Elle King

Video of the Year

Elaina: “Somewhere on a Beach,” Dierks Bentley, directed by Wes Edwards
Jim: “Somewhere on a Beach,” Dierks Bentley, directed by Wes Edwards
John: “Humble and Kind,” Tim McGraw, directed by Wes Edwards
Lisa: “Burning House,” Cam, directed by Trey Fanjoy

Musician of the Year

Elaina: Dan Huff, Guitar
Jim: Dan Huff, Guitar
John: Dan Huff, Guitar
Lisa: Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar

The Writers Room, Ep. 41, 42 minutesphotos by Jason Simanek

Source: Country Weekly

%d bloggers like this: